Girl On Fire

Well, it’s been a crazy last few months.

WAAPA has been an absolute blast so far. People are extremely supportive of one another, and it’s fantastic to be surrounded by people who have the same interests as I do, whether it’s the music, the acting, the dancing, or the performing generally.
I’ve made some really cool friends, and it’s great watching as we all go through the course together and improve.

17796126_577389292467751_915367207479176784_n
Photo from the Oratorio Performance early this year – see if you can spot me! 🙂

I’ve had my first round of assessments recently which was pretty full on, but I found them pretty easy and fun to do, so long as I didn’t forget about them. (I forgot one for an entire week and ended up doing it the night before it was due… I’m not making that mistake again!)
I also have the honor of being allowed to perform in one of the WAAPA shows. Normally most of the shows for classical singers are kept for the Bachelor students from 2nd, 3rd and 4th years – the students from 1st year and Diploma get the Oratorio in the middle of the first semester.  It’s been an interesting experience being in the show, as I was thrown into it in the middle of rehearsals and I’ve had to help with choreography as well as just generally singing and doing my stilts and hula hooping.
I’m getting my costume tomorrow morning, which I am extremely excited about, and I’ve just been given my sheet music for the songs – I have three weeks until the show starts so I need to get it up to scratch.

 

 

I sent in my application to volunteer at Supanova again, so I’m looking forward to hopefully being a part of the wonderful community again. I had a lovely time helping out in Guest Management last year, and I’m still in touch with Jade and Ryan from Cheese TV, which is pleasant.

IMG_20160625_201446 (copy)
Signed picture from Christopher Sabat! (SupaNova 2016)

The plan is to start saving up some money so that I can get an autograph or a photo with James Dashner, the author of The Maze Runner series. He’s coming down for the event and I love his writing, and it would be nice to meet him (even if it is a brief meeting). Most of my money is going towards waapa but hopefully busking will improve and I’ll be able to get an autograph. 🙂

I’d better log off. I’ll pop back on next week and say hi.

Eärlindë Melwasúl

Leave a Reply

