Struggles of an Author

When I published Ruby I never realized how hard it was going to be for me to promote it and make sales.

This was mainly because of my friends. I told them about it constantly, they were always super duper excited about it, and always reassuring me with remarks of “We’ll buy it!” “I’ll share it with my friends!” and so on.

When it was published, one person bought a copy. The others all asked for free copies.

I was so excited when I got one copy sold, and then I waited, while sharing the link to the book and talking to people about, for at least another copy to sell. It’s been two months now and I’ve still only sold one copy.

I should have seen it coming, admittedly. What does hurt though is one of my friends also wants to be an author, helped me out by proofreading it and then didn’t bother to share the book. She knows that I would have shared one of her books if she got one published, so it hurt a little when she didn’t do the same for me.

So my current hurdle is to share my book around and find the group of readers who will read my book. I’m considering contacting youtubers to do book reviews and talking to magazines to see what we could do – I’m happy to give them discounted or free copies of the book so long as it shares the book to a wider audience. 🙂

I’m wondering if perhaps I should have gone along with the traditional route of publishing – where you actually go to a publisher and hope that they publish it. But I’ve done what I’ve done now, so all there is to do is wait.

Eärlindë Melwasúl

Leave a Reply

