One Can Make a Difference

(Contains Spoilers – don’t read if you  haven’t seen Rise of the Guardians movie. Unless you don’t care about spoilers because you don’t plan on ever seeing it.)

Last night I watched “Rise of the Guardians” for the very first time. It was a beautiful movie, although it was slightly too fast paced, and my only problem is that I wanted to see more of Jack Frost’s sister – she was adorable!!

tumblr_inline_n6ok1izZqY1sg0kn4
Jack Frost’s adorable sister

I was also really pleased that it didn’t have as much of the “teenage angst” that I was expecting it to have. Actually, it didn’t really have any.

Anyway, watching the movie reminded me of something I have on my mind a lot (especially these days). There’s a scene where all the children in the world have stopped believing in the Easter Rabbit, Father Christmas, the Tooth Fairy and the Sandman… except for one. This child ends up saving the four, even though he was alone at first.

Have any of you (my readers) thought “Global warming is bad. We need to do something about it… but I’m only one person, I can’t make a difference”?
I’ve met a lot of people who have actually confessed to that. And it’s not just about global warming, either – bullying is one, not liking the quality of food/clothes is another. It literally applies to anything. (I’m just using global warming as an example)

Now this makes me sad. Everyone can make a difference, because you’re not alone – what you’re thinking about doing, another person is already doing. There are 7.4 billion people alive, so chances are that if you want to stop global warming but can’t because you’re one person, you’re wrong, because there are other people out there trying to do it too.

Even if you’re the only person you know who wants to stop global warming, you should do your best to stop it anyway. Some people just need to see someone else to do it too, and suddenly you, one person, have inspired another person, and another. And thus it continues on.
My family don’t own a car. This comes as a shock to a lot of people, but for others it’s inspiring. We’ve had a few people tell us that they had been considering getting rid of a car, and after seeing how us as a family get around without one has finally convinced them to get rid of it.
Things like this make me so happy. It’s such a good feeling, knowing that I’ve inspired someone to do something differently, something that they were considering doing but hadn’t really decided on whether or not to do it.

Whatever your cause is, whether it’s stopping global warming, standing up to bullies or fighting for the right of organically grown food, go ahead and join in. Inspire others to join you. Make a revolution.

One person can make a difference. That person can be you.

Eärlindë Melwasúl

One thought on “One Can Make a Difference

Leave a Reply

